The Millennium Development Goals | Print |

In September 2000, the largest number of world leaders ever to assemble in one place, gathered together at the United Nations headquarters in New York City for the Millennium Summit. There, they committed their nations to a new global partnership to reduce extreme poverty and setting out a series of time-bound targets, with a deadline of 2015, that have become known as the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

The eight Millennium Development Goals are as follows:

1.Radicate extreme poverty and hunger.
2.Achieve universal primary education.
3.Promote gender equality and empower women.
4.Reduce child mortality.
5.Improve maternal health.
6.Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases.
7.Ensure environmental sustainability.
8.Develop a global partnership for development.

At its congress in Vancouver, Canada, in July 2006, it formally was announced that CIBJO had receive official consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations. ECOSOC had been intimately involved in the adoption of the Millennium Development Goals. Indeed, it was ECOSOC’s “Manifesto on Poverty” in 1999 which in many respects anticipated the formulation of the eight goals that later were approved at the UN Millennium Summit.

Speaking at the 2006 CIBJO Congress in Vancouver, Dr. Hanifa Mezoui, the chief of the NGO Section at ECOSOC quoted Kofi Anan, the former UN Secretary-General, when he spoke at the Davos Economic Forum in January 1999: “Leaders of government and business continue to have choices. So let us choose to unite the power of markets with the authority of universal ideals. Let us choose to reconcile the creative forces of private entrepreneurship with the needs of the disadvantaged and the requirements of future generations. Let us ensure that prosperity reaches the poor. Let us choose an enlightened way forward towards our ultimate, shared goal: a global market place that is open to all and benefits all.”

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > End >>